PSL History – Pakistan Super League History Birth Date and Teams Details

Last Updated on January 7, 2020 by David

All the details are available about the PSL history. Also, you can know about the Pakistan Super League teams and its birth year in this post. Many T20 leagues are available in the world. So the Pakistan Cricket Board decided to make their league like others. Then, they picked up the name of it PSL.

PSL History

The officials of the PCB made Pakistan Super League on 9 September 2015 in Lahore. So, the season of PSL runs between February and March. And each organization of the PSL plays the double round-robin format cricket. Also, the Pakistan Cricket Board is present in Lahore.

PSL History 2021

As of the birth year of PSL, it has played four editions. So, the first season played in the United Arab Emirates entirely due to security reasons. Then, the next three seasons have played in Pakistan and Lahore. But now, the fifth season will be played in Pakistan totally due to the Prime Minister order. Let’s talk about the other details!

PSL Teams

When the PCB made this T20 league, five teams were present in it. After some time, another group will include in Pakistan Super League. The names of the five teams are Lahore Qalandars, Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, and Islamabad United.

In 2017, the PCB officials included the sixth team named Multan Sultans. Also, it became the most expensive team in PSL. So, the names of the teams and their locations, captains, coaches, and owners are available below!

  • Karachi Kings

It belongs to Karachi, which is the capital of Sindh Province in Pakistan. Also, it is the top-rated team in PSL. So, the names of captain and coach are Imad Wasim and Dean Jones, respectively. Moreover, Salman Iqbal is the owner of this team and he is CEO of ARY Group.

  • Lahore Qalandars

This team belongs to the Lahore, which is the capital of province Punjab. Also, it is the most expensive team in the Pakistan Super League. So, the name of the captain and coach is Sohail Akhtar and Aaqib Javed, respectively. Moreover, the owner of this team is Fawad Rana, who is an MD in Qatar Lubricants Company.

  • Peshawar Zalmi

It is the most favorite among the global players. Also, this team belongs to Peshawar, which is the capital of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. So, Darren Sammy is the captain, and Muhammad Akram is a coach of this team. And Javed Afridi is the owner of this excellent team, who is CEO at Haier Pakistan.

  • Quetta Gladiators

This team belongs to Quetta, which is the capital of Baluchistan province. Also, it has got many fans in the world due to the excellent players. Moreover, the captain and coach of this team are Sarfaraz Ahmed and Moin Khan, respectively. So, the owner of this team is Nadeem Omar, who is the Director at Omar Associates.

  • Islamabad United

This team has highly skilled players, and it belongs to Islamabad. So, Islamabad is the capital of Pakistan. Moreover, the captain of this team is Shadab Khan, and the name of the coach is Misbah-UL-Haq. Also, the owner of Islamabad United is Leonine Global Sports.

  • Multan Sultans

This team of PSL belongs to Multan. Also, it is the sixth team in PSL. So, the home city of this team is very beautiful. It is present on the River Chenab. The names of captain and coach of the Multan Sultan are Shahid Afridi and Andy Flower respectively. Moreover, the owners of this team are Ali Tareen and Alamgir Tareen.


Final Verdict

Consequently, you have known about PSL history. If you want more details about the history of PSL, then reply to me.

Thanks for Visiting!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *